Notice 02: 13th SSP. (February 22-27, 2017)

Reports and photos of the event

The 13th SSP will be held from 22 to 27 February 2017 at Leeuwenboschfontein, a guest farm set in the Klein Karoo about 200km from Cape Town.

Due to popular demand, the star party has been extended by several days to allow for more personal observing time.


Registration is now open!

Download the registration form, read the accommodation information page and phone 084 512 9866 or 021 982 6496 to book your accommodation before completing the registration form.

Registration closes 2017 February 21 at 20:00, but please make your booking as soon as possible to avoid disappointment. As of this writing (2017 Feb 15) only camping sites are available.


The formal programme (available as a PDF download) runs from the 24th to the morning of the 26th of February, but everyone is encouraged to spend some more time under the stars – from Wednesday, February 22 to Monday, February 27.

  • Wednesday, Feb 22 — observing on your own
  • Thursday, Feb 23 — observing on your own
  • Friday, Feb 24 – Sunday, Feb 26 — Formal SSP programme
  • Sunday, Feb 26 — observing on your own – remember the partial solar eclipse
  • Monday, Feb 27 — late departures


Lorenzo Raynard – Manager: Science Communication at Square Kilometre Array (SKA) South Africa.

Jim Adams – recently retired NASA Deputy Chief Technologist. Jim worked on over 30 missions for NASA and was in charge of the Discovery, Lunar, Mars and New Horizon programmes.

Who is attending?

Jim Adams (speaker), Jonathan Balladon, Deon Begeman, Ronelle Begeman, Steyn Botha, Samuel Botha, Dominique Brink, Johan Brink, Nellie Brink, Anja Bruton, Alan Cassells, Rose Cassells, Pamela Cooper, Chris de Coning, Micah de Villiers, Pierre de Villiers, Barry Dumas, Miemie Dumas, Clair Engelbrecht, Dwayne Engelbrecht, Arné Esterhuizen,  Iain Finlay, Edward Foster, Lynnette Foster, Louis Fourie, Maureen Helman, Cheyenne Kersting, Christine Kersting, Harald Kersting, Jamie Kersting, Robert Ketteringham, Evan Knox-Davies, Dianne Nxumalo-Kohler, Robin Kohler, Bennie Kotze, Paul Kruger, Lia Labuschagne, Eddy Nijeboer, Jannie Nijeboer, Lorenzo Raynard (speaker), Kim Reitz, Marius Reitz, John Richards, Rogan Roth, Johan Roux (Jnr), Henda Scott, Barry Shipman, Auke Slotegraaf, Corne van Dyk, and Chris Vermeulen.